Andhra Govt to Transform 6 Towns into ‘Smart’ Cities

Adding to Centre’s dream book on the Smart Cities mission, Andhra government decided in the state cabinet meeting that they are going to transform six municipal towns into smart cities. The proposed towns are Srikakulam, Eluru, Ongole, Nellore, Kurnool and Anantapur.

This well thought-out plan to upgrade six urban civic bodies into smart cities will be a part of central funds. However, there is no indication that the Centre will help the state develop these cities. Visakhapatnam, Kakinada and Tirupati are already selected earlier as a part of Smart City project of Union government and will be funded by the Centre.

In order to collect funds, the government will not seek the Centre’s help and soon set up special purpose vehicles (SPVs).

“Separate SPVs would be set up for each of the smart cities and funds will be generated for developing them in a systematic manner,” says P Narayana, Minister, Municipal Administration.

Source: ET Realty


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s